| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Birfday

2002-06-18


At dictionary.com, they have a word of the day. They've had this for four years. I looked in the archives and discovered something. Every word they have on June 17th represents me in some way.

perspicacity - clearness of understanding or insight

discomfit - to make uneasy or perplex. (Archaic) to defeat in battle

Hirsute - Hairy, shaggy

virtu - love or taste for fine things of art

I made that claymore. It's rather sweet, although a bit wobbly. I got several compliments for it when I took it to practice on Sunday, even though it does look like an ironing board. In fact, I may have had a chance of winning the weapons portion of the Arts and Sciences tourney with it if it wasn't as wobbly. As it was, I was told that it had awesome/amazing (I don't remember which word was used) construction. :) Considering it was the first weapon I made that I put some severe effort into, I'm very proud of that. They also told me how to fix the wobble.

Speaking of Amtgard, Logan and I are going to get to work on making a quest for it. Why? Because we want some newbies to come in and do something great. I made a good weapon. Eric's got some good ideas for his roleplaying. Logan and I are going to make a quest. I'm going to make some more weapons that I hope are as good. Eric's asked me to make him some throwing weapons, and we're going to put our heads together to try to put together a decent melee axe for him. And I'm trying to think of a way to make a...I don't know what to call this, but a battle harness. And weapons to fill it with.

Here's my thought. It's a bag on the back of a baldric type deal. There will be a deep pouch heading towards my left leg that hangs way down. This is to hold the tip of my claymore. I'll figure out a way lash the handle down as well so it won't be as much in the way. Sticking straight up will be four or so short javelins. When I make them, I don't think they'll be much bigger than arrows. I think the lighter weight and smaller size will let them fly a little farther than normal. In my belt, stash a few throwing axes, as well as a Pouch O' Herbs so I can finally use a barbarian's healing ability. I'm thinking have a longsword or short sword in my belt or in the bag or some thing. Where ever it'd go, I'd need it for a quickdraw in case I ever got armed using the claymore. That thing's a bitch one handed.

If anyone has any suggestions about this thingie I have planned, please let me know. :)

My birthday was today/yesterday. Basically, I got a bunch of books and some music. And ten bucks.

Music - Attack of the Clones, Lord of the Rings, Essential American Diner (four CDs of "jukebox favorites." It's pretty good)

Books - American Gods, a collection of Christopher Durang plays, The Mabinogion, Beowulf (the recent translation that I've heard is excellent), and The Knight in History.

I also got "Druids" with Christopher Lambert in it. People, let me warn you. Do NOT see this movie. It's bad. Very bad. I suffered through the first half hour. I may fast forward through this to see if the fighting's any good, but I doubt it will be.

My Beth is back and I get to talk to her. Yay!

Yesterday, Aunt Jane called me and told me what she got me. She picked up a torc for me at an Irish fair thing. :) I've really been wanting a torc, and all I really told her was "Anything medieval or Celtic." I'm happy about that and can't wait for it to get here. I'm hoping it gets in by Saturday so I can wear it at my party, but I'll probably end up wearing it around for a few days anyway whenever the hell I get it.

I think I'm done talking for now.

Slainte!

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |