| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Yesterday

2002-06-10


Yesterday we gathered at Stephen's (who, by the way, forgot to bring his digital camera. I sorry.) and I passed out directions. We got to the park, but they were practicing in a different spot than I had been told, so we had to drive around for a few minutes until we found them. The folks there were really friendly. When we got out of the car, two of them came up and started talking to us, finding out who we are and where we're from. It was cool.

We started fighting a little bit after that. Well, Logan and I started fighting with a couple of guys while the rest of our group was talking under a tree. I didn't do too badly in the first game we played, but I didn't do too well either. It was a single sword match where you could only use one sword that was four feet or under. Now, I'm an extremist. My armoury consists of big massive weapons and short swords. So, I had to use two and a half feet of length against four. >.< But I did go for a long while against one of their best fighters. And at another point I had about a five minute duel with another guy. Five minutes doesn't seem like a long time, but it is when you're fighting. The same guy tended to pick me out at random times throughout the day. He and I were pretty equally matched. We went at it, fighting until one of us could win five times. It ended 4 to 5, with me in front. :)

We did some more games, including an attempt to teach the newbies jugging. 'twas much fun. The people were wonderful, but there were still one or two assholes who I could've done without. The bad thing is that one of the assholes is really good and knows it. He was calling shots for people when he couldn't see what was going on properly. Hell, he was calling my shots when we were fighting and kept trying to say I was dead when all he got was a leg or an arm. >.< Or saying something killed me when he was across the field and both me and my opponent realized he just got my tunic.

The last thing we played was a two team ditch. Ali and I got a really stupid idea during this, and we ended up with her on my back wielding a spear and me wielding my claymore. If we work on it, this has the capabilities of being deadly. As it was, it didn't quite get us killed. I'm thinking if I make a shield and get some armour to make up for my lack of manueverability then she and I may end up being a rather odd but lethal pair on the field. And since she moved to Blacksburg, she and I can work on it during the school year. :)

Playing at church went well enough. Really, it wasn't eventful enough to say much about. Although there were comments about my hair (Mike thought it was cool, Sherman thought I needed a perm, and Joe was just impressed by how much of it there was) and I did get to see my niece, Caitlin. :)

Slainte!

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |