| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
A glorious return!

2001-08-14


8-12-01

23:17

Well, today's been fun enough, I guess. Had a big breakfast (which I really need to remember to not do; it messes with my digestion) with the family and then left around noon. However, we were back at the house around 1 or so. The van started making funny noises around Institute, so we pulled off the interstate and went home. It was kinda scary for awhile.

So, we loaded up the Saturn to its fullest capacity. That meant that I had to leave stuff at home and that only one parent could accompany me up here. Dad's back was hurting, so Mom brought me. It was a nice and relatively uneventful trip.

When I got here, I had to circle the building afore I found where I could enter and check in. Filled out some papers and all that and started lugging stuff up. When Mommy left, I sat at my computer and watched Love Hina until around a quarter 'til eight, when I headed over to the band room for a meeting. Of course, everyone had to stand up and introduce themselves, say where they're from, and tell what they play. I was the first one to actually stand, and therefore got applauded. Then I got applauded again for saying my name is John-Boy. And then I got applauded again for telling that I play tenor sax, but that was by a much smaller group of people. One thing that surprised me, though, is that Skank's going here now. Izzy had told me (yesterday? Day before?) that Skank mentioned coming here and being in color guard, but I thought poor poor Izzy got her wires crossed and substituted "Concord" for the name of whatever college Skank was planning on going to. But, I was wrong.

I'm glad my roomie isn't here yet. I've got all the plugs for my computer loaded up, and the stupid thing I got instead of a powerstrip takes up two plugs instead of one. Which is an annoyance.

Song suggestion - The Blood of Cu Chulainn from the Boondock Saints soundtrack. It r0xx0r5 7#3 11@|/|@.

I'm going to bed. I've gotta wake up at 7 to get ready for brekkist, and I'm probably going to be grumpy. However, bright side! I don't have to be at practice until 1, after I audition. So I got an early audition; 9:05. I need to band-aid my thumb before then; I got a scratch on there somehow.

Peace and Health!

John-Boy

--------------

8-13-01

7:08

Oh God, please save me from this bed! It's entirely too hard.

Yeah, I'm a baby. So what?

Around a quarter til two this morning, the fire alarm went off. At first, I really didn't notice. It fit into my dream perfectly. Then I woke up and thought it was my alarm. Then I thought a vacuum cleaner may be in the hallway. By the time I figured it out, it stopped. However, when it went off, I had only had approximately an hour of sleep or so, so I was pissed, yea verily.

I need something to read. I've got a couple of bucks, so I think I may walk down to the pharmacy and pick up a copy of Toy Fare or something to keep myself entertained until I can get a good novel or three here. Mom's supposed to come back down on Thursday or Friday to bring the rest of my stuff; I've got roleplaying stuff in there. All I've got now is my copy of "Everyday Gaelic." @whee! Now I can learn how to say "there's a mouthful of sheep showering in the road." ;)

I want breakfast.

Peace and health!

John-Boy

--------------

Same Day

11:16

My audition went well, I think, except that, as usual, low C came out raunchy. But Mr. Necessary told me to play loud...*grins* So I did. Unlike some people who play a woodwind, I've got the full knowledge of how to inflate my lungs to their fullest capacity. I played as loud as was comfortable instead of as loud as I could, but when I left, there were one or two people blinking at me. :)

Michelle lied. I've been on campus for around 19 hours or so and I've not been mobbed by willing wenches. Grr!

*sighs* I still don't have internet and the guy at the front desk isn't there. :( I need help, dammit!

I just remembered a quote I read in "The Vor Game" yesterday. To paraphrase, a group of five or six people were meeting with someone who desperately hated them and had several dozen armed guards around. To bolster their courage, the protaganist says "Don't worry about them. March like you have an empire at your back." And then he thinks, "Just don't look over your shoulder; they might be gaining on us."

Heehee.

Yes, I've written three times in the past twenty-four hours. I'm bored, dammit! What do you want me to do? Something productive?

I'm gonna go get me some lunch now so I'll have time to digest it before I go to practice.

Slainte Mhath!

John-Boy

--------------

Yep. Still the same day.

16:56

Just had dinner. Beef raviolli, rice, and a soda. Yeah, it's not much, but I don't really care. It's a meal, isn't it? I also didn't go for any dessert. If I keep eating like this, I may end up actually losing weight. *shrugs* Ah well. I won't be able to tell until I go home, anyway. There's no scale that I know of here that I can just hop on whenever I feel like it.

Well, I talked to this one flute chick, Susan, who gave me some advice on how to set up my net. It didn't work. >.< It looks like I may have to drag her or someone who knows what the hell they're doing over here and convincing them to help me out. I'm a dumbass when it comes to technical stuff.

We're playing some interesting stuff today. A fight song that isn't On Wisconsin, Big Noise from something or other, and In the Stone. Funky.

Speaking of which, we were told to wear our "funkin' shoes" for the after-supper practice. There were quite a lot of people who misheard that, either intentionally or not.

I'm gonna run now.

Slainte Mhath!

John-Boy

--------------

Can you guess what today is, kiddies?

20:04

I've come to the conclusion that I am not very good at funking. I am definitely uncoordinated.

All right, today hasn't been bad, but I'm hungry. One plate of pasta and rice is not enough to last me through practice. I think everyone else is going out somewhere, but I dunno. I'd feel awkward asking for a ride with people I don't know to go spend time with these very same people for a few hours. Yes, boys and girls, despite popular belief and proof otherwise, John-Boy is indeed still shy. It sucks verily.

Note to self; if it's messed with your digestion before, it'll probably still mess with it. Therefore, don't eat shit that'll tear you up.

Slainte Mhath

John-Boy

--------------

8-14-01

8:02

I gotta be in the bandroom in forty three minutes. I figure it gives me enough time to watch some Love Hina and write in this first. @whee

You know, I'm beginning to think that sitting by myself during meal times isn't all that frikkin' great. Ah well...I'll eventually sit with other people. And if I don't, well...I can learn Gaelic whilst I eat. Yay Gaelic!

I noticed a little thing across from the bookstore that mentioned study in Ireland. John-Boy is intrigued now...I'll have to get a better look at it at lunch.

-------------

Yes, now it's 4:16 on the 14th. I went and got the proper sort of cable, so I'm happy now. Internet good. However, I'm also pretty hungry, so I think I'm gonna run off and get some dinner. Then I shall return. And there will be much rejoicing.

Slainte Mhath

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |