| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Infinite John-Boy

2001-05-09


I got off the phone with Ashley about twenty minutes ago or so. I love talking with her. :)

I coined a phrase today while talking to her. "Wrist-gnawingly boring." It's the perfect description of my English class! Yesterday, we started on "A Modest Proposal" (the edible babies thing by Swift) and, even with the fact that Mrs. Robinson had the word "SATIRE" and the definition up on the board in big ole letters, my class thought it was serious. C'mon! How can you be that stupid? Even without that oh-so-subtle clue, there's also the fact that there's plenty of hints in the text that screams "NOT REAL. MOCKING BRITISH IN CLEVER MANNER. CARRY ON." And now we're watching a crappy version of Gulliver's Travels, which we'll be having a test on. I'm really close to just telling her that I'm wasting my time with that class and would be better off getting another hour or two of sleep than attending when all she does is show videos. And that if she wants me to be aware of the satire Swift was using with GT, then I'll go to the library and read the damn book.

I may actually end up passing Tech. Physics without extra credit...I'll find out tomorrow how much leeway I have.

I did some cleaning to prepare for D&D tomorrow (I have some really cool ideas I'd talk about, but I think Marc still reads this and don't want him to know too soon) and was getting ready to go to bed when I looked at my watch. It said ten till ten. I shrugged and came down here to get online. I swear I'm getting old...

Ashley and I are going on a picnic Friday (it's a halfday, and the stupid fair so I'm skipping). :) It should be pretty fun. She made me promise to make some Tang, though, which I'll do. It might be dangerous to get her hyper, though...she's scary enough as it is.

I leave now.

Peace and Health!

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |