| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Life sucks, or it doesn't. I dunno.

2001-02-12


You know, sometimes life is all how you look at it. I recently turned in a pretty good character analysis of Grendel for my English class. She tore the thing apart. I got an eighty out of a hundred. Just about everything she took off on was her not liking my word choice or the way I phrased things. Just about everyone I showed it to couldn't believe how I got an 80 when just about everyone else in the class (a regular English class filled with idiots) got an A while I sat one point away from a D. She took off points for "playing psychologist" when I was supposed to "analyze the character, instead of trying to explain his motivations." Uh...isn't that kind of what analyzation of a character is? I'm sorry if I gave her a perspective and reasoning she never saw before, but did she have to take off points for me saying he wasn't evil of his own fault? What she wrote on my paper was "-3 Can pure evil be induced to good?" Keep in mind, pure was underlined three times. Even God and Satan aren't "pure good" or "pure evil." I don't remember what it's from, but in a book or a story I read once, one of the characters was about to give up, saying "No matter what we do, evil survives. It just stays there forever!" The omniscient being chuckled and said "Foolish boy...does not good?"

Damn I went off on a tangent.

Anyway, back on track. I've printed out two copies of my essay without my name. Erika is going to give one copy to Mrs. Lusher and one to Mrs. Danner and ask them to rip it apart. We'll see how the good English teachers grade it. Also, I'll go in to Mrs. Robinson's room tomorrow during lunch and ask her some questions about it.

Tonight was AD&D. The only good quote I got was "I want to get to town so I can get a mount." "Oh, you'll get a mount all right." Whoo. However, the pissy dwarf is getting to be an insane pissy dwarf. The manic gnome sorceror's familiar is a raven. I remembered that ravens as familiars speak one language. So, it speaks common. And it's got itself a sense of humor. It caws at everyone, except for the dwarf. When the dwarf has watch, the bird comes on over and talks to him. When the dwarf was asleep and having a nice dream about The Perfect Tavern, the bird came over, perched on his chest, and sang. Dwarf tried to shoot birdie. A critical miss occured and the bow string broke. The archer of the group made a "string" out of pine needles for him until he gets a grip on reality and stops trying to kill the damn familiar. And the female paladin won a bet with the ranger over who could bed the barmaid, had a night of mindblowing sex, and awoke to find her goddess in her room. Goddess gave instructions on how to find the Fifth Level Paladin's Mount, a purple hippogriff with polka dots, tiger stripes, and a neon yellow mane/tail. Teehee. :)

I can look at life right now and say, "Damn it sucks" or "Damn, it's good." Life for me isn't bad right now, actually, but some of my friends are having problems with stuff. Meaning, I feel like I should hunt them down like dogs, sit down with them, listen to what's bugging them, and hug the living hell out of them. You know who you are. Or not. *shrugs* Either way, if you're my friend, I'll probably do that kind of thing for you. It's who I am.

By the way, we scored third place in finals in Cuyahoga Falls. This weekend, we're going to go to Alderson Broadus (I'm pretty sure it's misspelled, but I don't give a flying monkey shit) for, not a competition, but a seminar. And I don't get back until the next day. And then I play for praise band at church with little to no practice. Whee!

I leave now. I'm getting sleepy. G'night, my luverly bunch of coconuts.

Peace and Health.

John-Boy



0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |