| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Beowulf

2001-02-05


Light! Glorious light! How long has it been since I last saw light? Fifty long years have I been trapped in this hell, hanging from the wall like a common trophy. Did these monsters not know of my potential? Did they think I was merely some common piece of iron with a piece of gild-work for a hilt? These fiends even had the nerve to chain me into my scabbard! The man who was so kindly to free me swung me experimentally in the air. I screamed my readiness to sup on the blood of the monstrous mockeries of man who held me captive for so long. With a battle cry of his own, my savior charged, sweeping my razor-sharp length for the hag's head. She raised her taloned hands in an attempt to save herself from my long-deserved vengeance, however the giants who had forged me had enchanted my body with a keenness that not even the finest razor could match. Her blood carried with it the sweet taste of revenge.

The man dropped my point to the ground, leaning on my pinions to support himself after the battle fury had worn off. He shook some of the witch's sweet blood out of his hair and stared at me as I was now staring at him. This man was tiny! The runt of the litter, most definitely. His height wasn't even close to my own eight- foot length. The fact that he had even picked me up, much less wielded me, should have been impossible. Yet, I knew that this bloodied and beaten young man must have been the one to send the evil she-wolf's soul to reside in hell, for there was no one else in the entire battle-hall, excepting the witch's wounded son.

As I was thinking of it, the wounded warrior seemed to gain the idea himself. If I could have, I would have smiled in anticipation as he hefted my weight and limped over to where the armless troll was lying. After all, revenge is a dish best served with seconds.



0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |