| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Super! Thanks for asking!

2000-08-22


I read some entries by Will and Logan today that got me to thinking. It was about their fantasies to be a Hero or supervillain, respectively. And, you know what? It sounds like some damn good fun.

Sure, I've thought about it on my own time, but this is sparking my thought process (as well as a roleplaying incident that I'll discuss below), so you're getting John-Boy's Thoughts On Super Heroes.

I've always thought that superheroes were so naive. Trying to fix all that's wrong in the world, but never even coming close. Tremendous fighters, but always having a score of enemies they could never just kill and get away from. They always had to turn them in to the proper authorities for "proper justice" from the government, or show mercy at the last minute and send them on their own merry little way to see if they'd turn good this time. Which never freakin' happened, by the way.

Same thing with supervillains, by the way. I mean, c'mon! How many times can you try to take over/destroy/do grievous bodily harm to the world before you realise that there's always someone who you can't kill who's going to get in your way? And when you finally manage to capture them, you always put them in a locked chamber/remote location/impossible situation that gives them no chance of survival, yet you don't stick around to watch? Really...how stupid is that?

However, they can both be admired. They stick to their guns. They're persistent. They can overcome huge odds and end up on top, although the supervillains always lose it by the end. Plus, they've got really cool powers!

So, I've decided. I do not want to be a superhero. I do not want to be a supervillain. I want to be Super Chaotic Neutral. Combine both worlds, and that's what you get. And would it not be nifty? You got superpowers, or you stand out in some other way. You got prestige. You got allies and enemies from both ends of the spectrum. And no one knows what you're going to do next! Fun! Whee!

Super John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |