| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
"That's like me calling you up and saying "Uh...I've kind of maybe discovered I can make the sun fall..." Don't do that!"

2002-10-14


.

Apparently I'm brilliant.

I got my philosophy midterm back today. I can't decipher any of her little notes, so I'll ask Dr. Schilz about them later, but I got an 87. I showed some people one of my essays in the green room and they refused to let me have an 87, and therefore gave me a 97. The Canadian ranted for awhile about how my professor must have had a bad day or something to not recognize brilliance. That kind of made my day.

Here's the essay. The question was to define justice as Plato's Republic defined it and then give your opinion on it. Or something like that.

According to the Republic, justice is filling your place in society. Your place in society is determined by your natural aptitudes when tested at a young age.

Justice is expressed in the soul by keeping balance of desires and bodily wants and keeping them in check of reason.

This form of justice is good for its own sake and for the external rewards. It makes you a more balanced, and therefore happier, individual, and is also good for everyone else involved.

This is a good theory, however I think it has a very real danger of denying us that which makes us real. If we use reason over everything, it's all well and good. There are less fights or arguments caused by somoene who didn't think before they spoke and the rate of stupid acts would go way down. However, what if reasons gets out of control? What if we start over-analyzing everything? What if we can't act without weighing all the possibilities? It denies us our ability to make snap decisions and, after a period of time, we lose our emotions and become creatures of pure reason and logic. As much as I respect robots and Mr. Spock, I don't think living in a world made up of nothing but would be the best of living spaces. It would be losing part of our humanity.

There 'tis. My essay.

I wants some lunch.

Slainte!

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |