| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Two weeks

2002-01-25


Well, I've been gone for awhile, yes. That's not too uncommon, but I actually have a reason this time. The net lines in the room have been dead. So, I've been keeping a diary on Word. God bless cut and paste.

1-15-01

Well, I've changed rooms to get away from the short one. Basically, I'm down a floor and in a substance free area, which shouldn't be too terrible.

Got my books today. *grins* For the Fantasy Fiction class, one of the books is Mostly Harmless. And thus the llama was rocked. :)

I signed up for another class - College Algebra at 8 in the morning. It's at 8, but I should be able to survive it. I'll just set my alarm clock for six tomorrow and go to bed early tonight. Shit...I need a calculator. I'll call home around 3:15 and tell Mommy, I guess. She should be home by then.

After getting my books (minus the ones for the Tolkien class - they haven't been ordered yet), I headed for Subway for some lunch. I sat with Jeanne and Trish whilst I ate and discovered that they were going to be in my Fantasy Fiction class with me. :) At least I'll have someone to talk to or get assignments from if I miss.

It's good to see everyone. I've missed this.

Slainte!

John-Boy

(14:36 Eastern time. Noonish John-Boy Standard Time)

1-16-01

I woke up at 5:28 today. I don't really know why, but it's just when it happened. My alarm was set for 6, but I didn't want to wake up my roommate early by me rattling around the room, so I just listened to music and sat there in the dark until my alarm went off. When I finally crawled out of bed, I had a really nice shower. The showers down here are much nicer than the ones upstairs. They're cleaner, for one, and have actual water pressure. It's a delightful treat after the lukewarm skanky showers that I used all last semester.

Shower = warm = good :)

Last night, I made a new character for D&D. He's a cleric of Mystra/sorceror named Amaril, but goes by Jakob. (I'll explain why later). Last night, in his very first session, he became a saint.

Due to the fact that the other characters were much more powerful than I, we were facing a few barbarians, one of which was level 13. The level 13 had just leveled me with a blow from his greataxe and was about to finish me off when the DM rolled divine intervention. I made it. Mystra apparently caused the barbarian to stop existing, or put him on a different plane, or something like that. Then she blew me a kiss and left. The kiss healed me totally and left a sort of imprint on my cheek. Those who know anything about religion can see it and can try to see if they recognize what it is. If they recognize it, then I'd probably be able to make them do whatever I want. The entire church of Mystra is basically my lapdog now - anything I want, I can have. I'm going to have a permanent morale bonus. Mages are now my play things. All in all, I've got a lot of stuff right now that could be abused, but I'm going to be doing my damn best not to. Hell, I'm not even taking any combat spells other than those used strictly to defend. No magic missile, no fireball, no shocking grasp...just sleep, shield, command, and such.

I'm gonna go. I need to get my sleepy fuzzy ass over to the science building for my math class. >.<

Slainte!

John-Boy

(7:44 Eastern, Too Damn Early JBST)

01 - 17 - 02

I just got back from Applebees, where we went to celebrate Pam's birthday. The waitress was apparently asleep on her feet, or just hated us. She wandered around for awhile after getting our orders, came back three times to tell us that someone's drink was almost ready (as in, she almost ordered it - the bar hadn't heard from her when someone went over and asked about it), didn't give me my change (only 51 cents, but still...I wanted it), and was generally a very very bad server. She was bitched about.

Today was the first time I've seen Pam in over a month, so it was very good to see her. Yet, I kissed her only twice. Once again, it was very good to see her, but, still...I was hoping for more than two quick little kisses. Ah well...I'll get cuddle time eventually.

Still no internet. Hopefully later tomorrow/today I'll get it hooked up. Keith needs to get a tech in to hook up his ethernet card, so we're going to have the guy check the connection and such for me. Or try, at least.

I lost my schedule today, and I couldn't recall what room my math class was in. I also couldn't find the teacher's office, so I'm going to be running around tomorrow to try to find out.

Today was the first day of classes. A few of us were in one of the dorms watching The Cable Guy. Afterwards, we were on the landing and this one girl came in being carried by two other girls, who weren't doing too great of a job. The girl being carried was lamenting how she was doing vodka shots since before three and lost her scholarship because the RD caught her drinking. This was around 8:30 or 9, keep in mind, so that means about 5 - 6 hours of steady drinking. On the first day of classes. Smooth, chick, smooth.

Slainte!

John-Boy

(12:42 Eastern, Soon to be midnight JBST)

01 - 18 - 02

I need to be getting to bed sooner, really. I've got entirely too much to read and do to be up and not finished with/finishing things right now. I'm mostly through Mostly Harmless, but I've still got a few chapters left in it. I've also got a couple chapters to read for my speech class and that'll cover things. I figure I can finish Mostly Harmless tonight, read the first two chapters of the speech book before/during/after breakfast, and have the weekend to read for my T-day classes.

I'm listening to Thornhill for the first time in about a year or so. I'm enjoying the experience. :)

I got another copy of my schedule today. Turns out the reason I couldn't find my math class is because it's actually at 10. I'm going to go in tomorrow and ask if I can still have my seat in there. I tried to find the professor's office, but the math department doesn't have one of the handy-dandy lists and I didn't really see anyone who knew. >.<

A little bit earlier, Pam drew me out of the green room and into one of the dressing rooms to talk to me for a minute. Basically she told me that she's really confused right now and doesn't know what she really wants to do. She's going through some tough times at the moment and that would be hard on me. Something similar happened previously and things ended quite badly with too many bad feelings on each side and she cares about me enough that she doesn't want to do that to me. Also, she's working two jobs at the moment, as well as going to school, so time is a rare and valuable commodity for her. I hugged her and told her that any decision she made I would understand and wouldn't be too upset about. Also, I told her that sparing me hardship is an honourable thing, but shouldn't necessarily be the biggest thing on her mind. Really, she's got problems and I'm going to try to help her through them whether I'm dating her or merely being her friend. There's another thing to consider too - when it comes to emotions, I'm a rock. I'm not saying I'm cold and unchanging, I'm trying to say that I'm solid and strong emotionally. Things that would've affected someone else rather dramatically, I've coped with handsomely. Sure, it's given me a big head about my inner strength, but I have yet to find anything to even come close to breaking me. One can never know his limits until he surpasses them, after all.

Yeah, I'm headed for trouble if I keep that attitude. You know what? I'm also headed for life. Life is nothing without tests or excitement. I may get burned, but I'll also see the glory of flame up close rather than gazing at it from the distance.

Sometimes even I don't know what I'm talking about, really. I think I'm trying to wax poetic or something.

I need sleep.

Slainte!

John-Boy

(12:40 Eastern, I think John-Boy Standard Time is currently malfunctioning. Please check again at later date.)

1 - 19 - 02

Today's been pretty okay, I guess. I slept until noon, took a shower, and ate breakfast. I've also convinced Keith to draw a picture of one of my D&D clerics in one of his crowning moments. The other day I was playing and Pickle was DMing. He had us up against three wraiths and a wyvern. The rest of the party couldn't do shit to the wraiths, so it was up to me and my spells. Searing light twice killed one and wounded another. After that, I cast Magic Weapon on my greatsword and waded into them. Unfortunately, I got a permanent drain on Constitution. Now he has a constitution of 6. It's going to be a pain in the ass next adventure, let me tell you. However, I leveled twice so I'll be able to cast Restoration after the next adventure and get my attributes back. :)

I just talked to Mommy on the phone. They got 8 inches of snow back home to shovel through. >.< But, she seems to be doing well. She has the opportunity to take a year long sabbatical from Conner Street to teach a year at the Clay Center, which is a place that's heavy into the arts. That'd really be an experience for her and I hope she makes it in.

I'm bored. I think I'm gonna go over to the green room and do some homework. I don't know why, but I don't feel as comfortable doing homework in here. *shrugs* Oh well. I don't think it really matters where I do it as long as it gets done.

Oh! Last night, I was thinking I need to make another greatsword. One with a decent ricasso. So, I was coming up with designs and thought of one in the shape of a lightning bolt. That got thinking to other ideas. Flame blades, blades that look like an incoming wave, blades shaped like a tree or a leaf. If I can make them right, I figure I could have some really awesome looking weapons. :)

Slainte!

John-Boy

(3:41 Eastern, One o'clock or so, JBST)

1-20-02

Ugh. Sometimes it just hurts to get out of bed. I hate it when that happens.

It snowed yesterday, followed it up by raining and freezing the snow, and snowed another inch while we were playing D&D.

Yesterday I had 60 straight matches against three opponents. I won 57. Greg won none, Pickle won one (in a very humourous manner), and Adrian won two. It was nifty. I'm also proud of myself because I wasn't even breathing hard and I ended up exhausting everyone when all they fought was twenty matches. I did take a break after Fight #40, though, but that was just to grab a quick drink of water. Something I always hear is "if you're fighting for awhile and you don't think you're thirsty, drink a little bit anyway."

In D&D we have a new joke. Greg's character had no money, but had a magical bag that was always full of parsnips as well as 150 pounds of parsnips on his pony. At one point he thought he was deathly ill, so stumbled into the apothecary crying and asked the man in charge if he liked parsnips. I got up, ran out the door, and came back in to act this out to show him how truly ridiculous it was, but also because I thought it was funny. We started making parsnip jokes about everything. "*sobsob* My best friend died...do you like parsnips?" And so on, and so on.

Last night, Adrian, Pickle, and I walked Elizabeth back to her dorm. Afterwards, I looked over and saw this massive hill that people had been sledding down all day. I put everything in my pockets into my jacket pockets, took off my glasses and keys, handed it all to Adrian, and rolled down it. It was incredibly stupid, yes, but it was also pretty fun. But, the snow was frozen. So my forearms are covered with tiny little wounds. Nothing bad, but it feels and looks like carpet burn. >.< Before I went down, I mentioned that with my luck I'd hit a rock and bleed. Therefore Adrian said something else amusing, "I know we're not supposed to eat the yellow snow, but what about the red stuff?"

More D&D stuff. Jeanne ran a quest before the one with parsnips where we were sent on a pilgrimage to Jude, goddess of lost causes, those who barely made it, and unlikelihood. She was crying, and me, being the helpful cleric that I am, patted her on the back and comforted her, first getting her attention with the words "Hey Jude." Also monkeys flew out of my butt. Twenty of them. I'm just really glad I wasn't wearing armour, or that would have hurt like a bitch and a half on crack.

I'm hungry. Food wanted.

Slainte!

(12:40 Eastern, Sometime in the Morning JBST)

01 - 21 - 02

*grumbles* My head hurts and it's really beginning to suck. Well, the head's not too bad...but the shoulders and neck thing is killing me.

Played D&D today. Well, I DMed, anyway. I had them fight off a Viking raid. *grins* I cheated to let them survive. Basically, they were being tromped. So I had a few do some stupid things, get distracted, and then die horribly. Two out of seven characters were even conscious by the end of the fight. If I was honest, they would have all died. It was entertaining.

I did some sparring with Emery today. He's going to be teaching a group of folks to fight as per Amtgard rules, and I didn't manage to make it to the last (and first) class. I don't know if I'm going to make it to the next one, either, but I hope I'll be able to. Anyway, we went into the theater to work on my defensive skills. Now, I'm not a complete novice. I know how to do things, although leg shots are my major weak point. So, to be completely and totally on defense is really hard for me. I see places where I could put a solid thrust, almost automatically riposte after parrying, take out my opponent's arm rather than block the shot, etcetera. A couple of times I did this, which was good, somewhat. I understand the defensive exercises - they make blocking and parrying automatic rather than an afterthought so you see someone start to move their arm, you place your sword faster than someone who was taught offense first. Anyway, we were going through it and I was blocking when I saw an opening and went for it, blocking the greatsword he was using with my off-hand blade and swinging in with my right hand. Emery then dropped the sword and sank to the floor, thanking God that we weren't using actual steel. I had just given him the groin shot of a lifetime. To be honest, I didn't even know I was going for the groin, I just saw the opening and went for it, figuring a hit is a hit is a hit. Well, it was a hit and a very smoothly done kill. I'm proud of myself for it, even if it was just luck. Luck is a factor in everything I do and I think of it as just as important as skill in competitions. Really, a lucky shot still counts as a kill and if you don't get cocky about things, you can use your luck to your advantage. For example, I've been replaying the fight in my head and I can see how I did it and how I'd be able to do it again. Experience is the greatest teacher and all that.

*sighs* I need someone to cuddle. I'm beginning to get desperate for just plain contact. I know that patience is a virtue, and a virtue I have, but that doesn't mean I can't bitch about it. I wish Pam would make up her mind so I could stop thinking "I wish I knew" if someone asked me how she was and, when finding out I didn't know, the person of course responds "Why not? Did you two break up?" Also, so I'd know whether or not to be ashamed of myself when I think "You know, if I were single, I figure so and so would go out with me." I know that that's a side of me people really don't see much, and I don't much care for showing it. I like to pretend that I'm more mature than my peers who sit around discussing who they'd sleep with and such. I may not discuss it, but I love beautiful things, especially things that are naturally beautiful. Animals or the moon are good examples. I can watch either of them for hours and not get tired of the sight. However, I'm also easily enamored with female beauty. I know some people would get offended by me saying that after saying I love beautiful things, thinking that I was saying that women are things. That's really ridiculous. I see women as people just the same as everyone else, just prettier for the most part.

I need some thin rope. Preferably a lot of it. I'd like to wrap my weapon handles, and maybe add some wrist loops to make it harder to disarm me. In at least two recent fights, I've had my off hand weapon dashed from my hands rather easily. That doesn't really bug me, because I'm better at fencing with my right. However, it's just a matter of time before that happens and I need that offhand weapon, or I lose my main blade. That's something I really don't treasure happening. Also, I use an old belt to wrap around the handles of my weapons and sling them across my back. Then I have to hold onto it or drop the load. I figure with a good length of rope, I could wrap the handles, take it across my body, and loop the tip of the longest weapon. Easily done, easily undone, simple, and convenient.

Bedtime. I've been writing for forty-five minutes.

Slainte!

(12:24 Eastern, soon to be midnight JBST)

1-22-02

I barely slept last night. I kept waking up and staring at the clock. It really kind of sucked. So, I'm just plain tired right now. On the bright side, I could curl up and nap, but I hate naps, so I guess I'll just stay awake and do homework. Too bad I can't remember what I'm supposed to read for fantasy fiction...>.<

I just spent fifteen minutes trying to get an outside line to call home on. No luck whatsoever. It really sucks, especially since I just picked up a couple of books I needed and need to tell Mom and Dad how much I spent.

I got my calendar today. Now my side of the room has a total of three wall decorations. A wolf calendar, a Boba Fett mini-poster, and a mini-poster of some Celtic warrior from some comic or another. The mini-posters I got from Keith.

I've barely eaten anything today. I don't know why, but I just don't feel hungry. My stomach disagrees and says I am, but still the urge to eat just isn't there.

I'm going to go do some reading and see if I can find someone from the fantasy class.

Slainte!

John-Boy



0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |