| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Highland Games

2000-07-09


Well, last night I got home from my trip to North Carolina. I wrote some stuff down on scrap paper, so here that is.

Friday, Around 10 PM

Today's been busy. I woke up BEfore Noon to pack my bag and leave for North Carolina, which is where I'll be seeing the Highland Games at Grandfather Mountain. We're about two hours away in a motel in Johnson City, Tennessee. One thing I've noticed in this state is the amount of cute blonde girls working just about everywhere. Dairy Queen, TCBY, Subway, the front desk at this motel...they're everywhere! I don't mind, really. THey're pretty easy on the eyes, after all. ;) It's just kind of freaky. They're reminding me too much of California.

Saturday, 3:15 PM

I'm in the car at an Exxon Station after getting out of the Games. We only stayed for a couple of hours, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. THere were so many costumed people there that..well, I can't think of a way to finish that sentence. But there were a lot of costumes. There was one guy I ran into who had an exquisite costume that looked very good. However, he didn't look totally period. I think the multiple piercings, partially shaved head, and tattoos kind of ruined the whole package. But, hey! It was a good costume!

I'm thinking of going back next year, camping out, and spending some more time there. Save up some cash, maybe drag a friend or two...it'd be fun, I think. I'm also thinking of losing some of this flab and maybe competing in one or two of the events. I'd probably lose horribly, but, once again, it'd be fun. :)

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |