| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Five in the morning, for the first time in forever

2002-11-16


.

Tonight was the last night of dance ensemble. I didn't dance with a blow-up doll. We had this skit planned out instead. The Canadian was going to come out in a wheel chair, start to sing "Oh Canada" and I was going to run out, tip him out of the wheel chair, and run off stage. Then he was going to get up, give chase, throw me back on stage, and we were going to have a fight for a few. Then music would change from what we were fighting to to Emenem's new song, and Shithead was going to come out and lip sync that. After a minute and a half of that, switch to The Elephant Love Medley from Moulin Rouge. Here's what actually happened...

The Canadian came out in the wheel chair and started to sing. I ran out, dumped him, and began to run off. However, I couldn't get the wheelchair into the alcove. So I stashed it behind the curtain. When I did so, I accidentally hit the power cord to the sound equipment. I didn't know this at the time. All I knew was that the music wasn't playing. The Canadian was out there shouting "Start the battle music!" It had started playing, but had cut out after two beats. "Start it again! I need the music! Come on guys, just hit play. Oh lord, I'm stuck out here. Help!" Shithead came out and said that the power went out to it. I wandered on out and said "Shatarsky! Why don't you guys entertain the people?" Both of them left stage, leaving me by myself. So for five minutes, I made an ass of myself. They got the music started again and the Canadian came out, and we started our fight. Right after he DDTed (I think it's called) me, the music cut out again. The audience apparently thought I was dead or wounded because I wasn't moving from that, thinking the music would start back up again and we'd continue. Nope. So we got up, having filled up the time by more than enough, and continued the actual show. People thought this was planned out. People who had watched us practice our earlier routine thought this was actually planned. I'm kind of proud of that. As is, I'm glad I kept the audience entertained, pumped, and laughing for that five minutes. Especially since I really suck at improv.

Something else interesting. Afterwards, there was a party at Karen's. Nothing really was happening, but we started playing the "Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus" board game. The way you play this is that there are two teams - chicks and guys. Each person on the team takes turns drawing a card with a multiple choice question on it. He or she marks his answer and then reads the question out loud. The other team guesses how he or she answered. Well, on one of my turns, I stumped the girls for a minute. My question was "In a partner, I prefer for her to make me A) laugh, B) think, C) feel." Elizabeth complimented me without obviously meaning to. "Geez...for you, that's really hard. I mean, you're really intellectual, you love to laugh, and you're really emotional at the right times." She and Lydia voted for Think. Heather voted Laugh. I was for feeling. That one seemed to confuse people for a minute, but they went with it.

I'm gonna go. It's five in the morning.

Slainte

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |