| new | old | mail | notes | profile |


retreat | go
Damn good day

2002-02-22


I've been grinning like an idiot all day. It's good to be John-Boy!

I was in a mildly good mood when I woke up, and that carried me through World Lit and Personal Wellness (we played ultimate frisbee today - whee!). When I got to English 102, though, my grin just busted out.

Tuesday we wrote a paper on a particular subculture we belong to. I chose roleplayers. Today we got into pairs and worked on our interviewing skills in an attempt to get information on someone else's subculture. I got the shy chick named Anna. She's cute, but very very shy. I noticed this and immediately turned into "laughing friendly fuzzy man." I got her to loosen up a bit and start quietly giggling to herself. I got the information on her subculture, which was a group she gets together with every Thursday night to go hang out and have fun without alcohol or dancing. It was just generally interesting. When we switched over, though, she seemed really interested in my topic. It was nice to see a desire to learn about something I know stuff about. I generally enjoyed myself and skipped out of class singing "The Song of the Shield Wall" to myself on my way to the caf. :)

I watched my first film society film this semester today. It was a Chinese romance entitled "The Road Home." It told a good story, even if it was a little predictable. I suggest it, if you can find it.

After that, I went off with Fenton and Lydia to eat dinner at his new apartment with his roommate. While he was cooking, I played Dynasty Warriors 2 and Tekken Tag. Today was good, and I was kicking major ass on both. Aaron, his roommate, has been playing Tekken games since the first one and I beat him four out of five matches. :)

Later on, I went to a party chock full of theater folks. There was, of course, a lot of drinking and I, of course, drank a lot of Code Red. In fact, about 3 and a quarter liters of it.

The games started out with "I Never," which is where someone says "I never something or other" and you drink if you have done that. People can call story on you if they see you drink and you have to tell all. It's a good "getting to know you" type game. I ignored the game and instead discussed books with Beth and Sarah.

We then went to the "present game." I amaze people by being completely and totally sober and having less inhibitions about things then people who were completely shit-faced. Adam, Khalil, and I formed a core of players who refused no challenge, no matter what it was. After Khalil left, though, Adam and I started flagging. He didn't give someone a lap dance (he would've fallen on his face) or serenade them, and I wouldn't do an erotic slow dance with someone (I don't dance) or give them an erotic massage (I honestly have no clue as to how to make it erotic. So I just gave them a massage, which caused some interesting enough noises.)

I need sleep. I've got a test in six hours.

Slainte!

John-Boy

0 comments so far


| MothersMagic | Fire Spirit | Host |